# PARA U16 Chair Report 2019-2020 Season

## **USSS Eastern Projects**

Three PARA athletes attended USSS Eastern projects during the 2020 season. Lucca Correia (BMRA) attended a men's SL event at Mittersill (males) and Marcella Altman (SRRC) and Tatum Treherne (SRRC) attended the women's SL event at Burke Mountain. Both were held on Feb 6-7.

## **Speed Camp**

Speed Camp was held on Feb 3-4, 2020 at Blue Mountain. Amato DePaulo and the Blue Mountain Crew once again did a great job of preparing Razors Edge to host the 2-day Camp.

Interest in Speed Camp was very high and online registration sold out in 13 hours. A wait list was established and many were admitted that were not able to get in through the online system. Unfortunately, there were several on the wait list that did not make it into the event. There were 37 U16 and 40 U14 athletes in attendance.

Next season, to accommodate U16 athletes, priority will be given to U16's as they race Super G at State Championships and post-season races. 2<sup>nd</sup> year U14 athletes will need to have their head coach's approval to attend Speed Camp. 1<sup>st</sup> year U14 athletes with head coach's approval will only be permitted to participate if openings remain after U16 and 2nd year U14 athletes have had an opportunity to register.

## **PARA U16 State Championship**

U16 Derby was held February 21st through 23<sup>rd</sup> at Blue Mountain. This was the 6th time that Blue Mountain has hosted. The field consisted of 83 racers, 41 females and 42 males.

Saturday evening's banquet was held at the Blue Mountain Summit Lodge with all, if not most of the athletes attending. Awards ceremony was held on Sunday. A baked potato/soup bar was served. Thank you to Beth Yen and the Blue Mountain parents for putting on a great weekend for the athletes!

#### **PARA State Team**

This year's U16 State Team consists of 12 females and 14 males. The following racers qualified for the PARA State Team based on their Overall Derby results:

<b>Females</b>			Males		
Marcella Altman	SRRC	2004	Lucca Correia	BMRA	2004
Tatum Treherne	SRRC	2004	Benjamin Cook	<b>BMRA</b>	2004
Abigail Miller	SRRC	2005	Bryce Gonder	SRRC	2004
Molly Burns	JFRT	2004	Tyler Keating	<b>EMSC</b>	2005
Grayson Honig	WPRC	2004	Connor Murphy	JFRT	2004
Sidney Sagullo	JFRT	2004	Dylan Jay	<b>BMRA</b>	2005
Allison Mitchell	SRRC	2004	Shayan Gupta	<b>BMRA</b>	2005
Carolyn Mole	WPRC	2004	Noah Rosenthal	JFRT	2005
Jaden Cook	<b>PASEF</b>	2005	Jack Pope	<b>EMSC</b>	2004
Sophie Milza	<b>BMRA</b>	2005	Tidhar Wurmser	WTSEF	2004
Sydney Hess	WTSEF	2004	Tucker Ellis	<b>BMRA</b>	2004
Kara Wilson	JFRT	2004	Torin Pottinger	WPRC	2005
			Armstrong Curren	LMRT	2004
			Phineas Sobel	LMRT	2005

## **USSS Eastern Championships**

U16 Eastern Championships was scheduled to be held at Burke Mountain. Due to COVID-19 this event was cancelled. The following athletes that had accepted spots:

<b>Females</b>			Males		
Marcella Altman	SRRC	2004	Lucca Correia	BMRA	2004
Tatum Treherne	SRRC	2004	Benjamin Cook	BMRA	2004
Abigail Miller	SRRC	2005	Bryce Gonder	SRRC	2004
Allison Mitchell	SRRC	2004	Dylan Jay	BMRA	2005
			Shayan Gupta	BMRA	2005

Coaches slated to support the PARA team were Lee Gonder and Doug Houston-Ludlam.

# **USSS Eastern Finals**

U16 Eastern Finals was scheduled to be held at Attitash and Mount Cranmore. Due to COVID-19 this event was cancelled. The following athletes that had accepted spots:

<u>Females</u>			<u>Males</u>		
Molly Burns	JFRT	2004	Tyler Keating	EMSC	2005
Grayson Honig	WPRC	2004	Connor Murphy	JFRT	2004
Sydney Sagullo	JFRT	2004	Noah Rosenthal	JFRT	2005
Jaden Cook	PASEF	2005	Jack Pope	<b>EMSC</b>	2004
Sophie Milza	BMRA	2005	Tidhar Wurmser	WTSEF	2004
Sydney Hess	WTSEF	2004	Armstrong Curren	LMRT	2004
Kara Wilson	JFRT	2004	Phineas Sobel	LMRT	2005
Megan Diller	SRRC	2004	Jamieson Delong	JFRT	2005

Coaches slated to support the PARA team were Rudi Riet and John DeLong.

# **2021 PARA U16 Championship Event**

The 2021 and 2022 U16 State Championships will be held at Blue Mountain per bid award at 2019 Spring meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas Yen PARA U16 Chair E6375161